Tuesday, July 29, 2008

I think that hurricane Katrina was obviously a huge tragedy, it was terrible in every way and I hope nothing like it ever happens again. Although, I do feel like Americans become obsessed and fascinated with this blame game for whoever was responsible. I think this part of Katrina was totally unnecessary. Every one is saying F.E.M.A. took to long and didn’t do enough and President Bush doesn’t care about New Orleans and all this hype. But the question I pose is “so what?” please keep in mind I am in no way what so ever trying to diminish or undermine the victims or the tragedy in general, just the blaming that took place afterwards. Because of “so what” let’s just imagine that all conspires are true, pretend President Bush doesn’t like New Orleans one bit, he doesn’t care for any citizen below upper middle class for that matter, and F.E.M.A. was just sitting around doing nothing, playing video games and what not. Then let’s pretend that this information is leaked out to the public and it’s in every paper and on every local news station, Bush and F.E.M.A. are all fired and arrested. Still my question remains though “so what.” So they were caught, but that doesn’t help any victims of hurricane Katrina at all. Look, it sucks that F.E.M.A. took so long to do anything and even after they did it wasn’t much, and it sucks that Bush was acting like a huge idiot. But we shouldn’t be talking about that, we should be asking ourselves, “if they won’t step up to the plate, how can I?” because blaming someone will not fix any levees and blaming some one won’t bring medicine, food or water and blaming some one will never rebuild a city. It might make you feel like you caught some on to put your problems on, and it might make you feel like justice is served. But I don’t see justice that way, I feel like justice will be served when people make an effort to rebuild New Orleans. I know people is vague but it should be vague, because it seems like New Orleans is still a mess and I don’t care who’s fault it is, I just care about how we fix it.

No comments: